Jump to content

Welcome to SECTalk.com

Welcome to SECTalk.com -- The Home of 6 Straight National Titles!

You are currently accessing our site as a guest which means you can't access all of our features such as social groups, sports betting, and many more. By joining our free community you will have access to all of these great features as well as to participating in our forums, contacting other members, and much more. Registration only takes a minute and SECTalk.com is absolutely free, so please join today!

If you have any problems registering or signing in, please contact us.

Latest Topics

Latest News

Top Bettors

Top High Fived



Member Since 06 Dec 2006
Offline Last Active Yesterday, 09:04 PM

Gators Win 2014-15 SEC All-Sports Trophy

18 May 2015 - 04:15 PM

UF wins GateHouse All-Sports Trophy

By Pat Dooley
Staff writer

Published: Sunday, May 17, 2015 at 4:34 p.m.

Last Modified: Sunday, May 17, 2015 at 4:34 p.m.

In one of the closest races in the history of the award, the conference title won by the Florida men's outdoor track and field team Saturday night pushed the Gators to another SEC All-Sports Trophy.

Florida and Texas A&M traded the lead back-and-forth all year, but Florida finished strong in track and field as well as baseball to finish with a score of .7572 to A&M's .7475.

The trophy, presented this year by GateHouse Media for the first time, honors the athletic program that has the best overall showing in all sports sponsored by the conference.

“It's always exciting to win the trophy,” Florida athletic director Jeremy Foley said. “We knew it was close and it was going to take a great finish. It's a tough, tough league and we take a lot of pride in winning it.”

The scores are computed by taking the points earned in each sport and dividing them by the number of teams participating in those sports. The points each team receives depends on the number of teams participating in that sport.

Florida won six SEC titles this season — men's indoor track, men's outdoor track, volleyball, men's swimming, women's tennis and softball. Florida also won the Big East in lacrosse, which does not count toward the award.

The Gators pulled out the victory despite subpar seasons in the two biggest revenue sports, football and men's basketball.

It was the 25th All-Sports Trophy won by Florida. The Gators won 14 straight before Georgia won in 2005-06. Florida has won every trophy since, but this one came down to Mouse Holloway's track and field team. That title won by the men was the 125th of Foley's career.

“Baseball did a great job and then track was the exclamation point,” Foley said. “Mouse has a way of doing that.”

Florida won despite not winning either the men's or women's competition. The Gator men finished second behind LSU, which won its first men's title since 1996-97. The women finished second to A&M, which won for the first time since joining the league three years ago.

The trophy was first given out by the SEC in 1983-84 and the league continued to award a trophy until 1994. The New York Times Newspaper Group took over the award in 1995 and continued until 2012 when Halifax Media Group began giving the award. This is the first year for GateHouse, which owns The Sun as well as dozens of other publications around the country.


Monday May 18, 2015

Florida Takes GateHouse Media Southeastern Conference All-Sports Title

Florida claimed its 25th Southeastern Conference All-Sports Trophy in 2014-15

GAINESVILLE, Fla. – A league-high six team titles led the University of Florida athletics program to its 25th overall Southeastern Conference All-Sports trophy in 2014-15. Florida wins the overall title for the ninth consecutive year in the 2014-15 GateHouse Media SEC All-Sports rankings.

The determination of the SEC All-Sports standings came Saturday when the final league championships for 2014-15 were awarded for regular-season baseball and for outdoor track & field.

Florida was second in both the men’s and women’s final standings. Texas A&M won its first women’s SEC All-Sports title since joining the league for the 2012-13 season. LSU took the men’s SEC All-Sports title – its first since 1996-97.

Did You Know?
·      Florida’s 224 all-time league team titles are the most in the SEC. In the last 10 seasons, UF leads the league with 56 titles.

Florida’s 2014-15 SEC titles:
The Gators led the SEC in 2014-15 with six league team titles:

· Softball

· Men’s swimming & diving

· Women’s tennis

· Men’s indoor track & field

· Men’s outdoor track & field

· Volleyball

One other Florida sport claimed a league crown in 2015 as the Gator lacrosse team won the BIG EAST title in their first season in the conference.


They may be calling it the Gatehouse SEC All-Sports Trophy, but at this point they might as well just name it the GatorHouse Trophy. ;)

UF SEC All-Sport Trophy Finishes
1973-74 - 3rd
1974-75 - 3rd
1975-76 - 4th
1976-77 - 2nd
1977-78 - 2nd
1978-79 - 3rd
1979-80 - 7th
1980-81 - 4th
1981-82 - 4th
1982-83 - 4th
1983-84 - 2nd
1984-85 - 2nd
1985-86 - 3rd
1986-87 - 3rd
1987-88 - 1st
1988-89 - 1st
1989-90 - 4th
1990-91 - 2nd
1991-92 - 1st - Jeremy Foley is promoted to Athletics Director.
1992-93 - 1st
1993-94 - 1st
1994-95 - 1st
1995-96 - 1st
1996-97 - 1st
1997-98 - 1st
1998-99 - 1st
1999-00 - 1st
2000-01 - 1st
2001-02 - 1st
2002-03 - 1st
2003-04 - 1st
2004-05 - 1st
2005-06 - 2nd
2006-07 - 1st
2007-08 - 1st
2008-09 - 1st
2009-10 - 1st
2010-11 - 1st
2011-12 - 1st
2012-13 - 1st
2013-14 - 1st
2014-15 - 1st

UF Nation's #1 College For Athletes

28 April 2015 - 10:07 PM

The 50 Best Colleges for Athletes
April 20, 2015

Choosing the right college is tough for anyone, but the process often feels nearly impossible for student-athletes. In addition to typical considerations such as academics and campus life, athletes must also look at athletic success, tradition, culture, scholarships and more.

To make life easier for student-athletes, STACK partnered with Niche, one of the world’s most popular college ranking services. After examining data and surveying more than 75,000 students, Niche compiled a list of the best schools for student-athletes.

The rankings below reflect averages of Niche's academic and athletic grades for each school. Their academic grade is based on factors such as acceptance rate, SAT/ACT scores, graduation rate and research expenditures. Their athletic grade takes into consideration student opinions, NCAA championships, sports attendance and percentage of students playing varsity sports.

Check out our chart of the 50 best colleges for athletes below, and find an expanded list of top 100 Schools at Niche.com, where you can also view detailed rankings for these categories:

Posted Image


2015 Gator Gymnastics 3-Peat As National Champs

18 April 2015 - 07:47 PM

Saturday April 18, 2015

THREE PEAT! Gators Sensational When it Matters Most ... Again

By Chris Harry
GatorZone.com Senior Writer

FORT WORTH, Texas -- Make room for more hardware in the Florida gymnastics trophy case, where three definitely will not be a crowd.

The Gators needed two clutch bar routines in the last two turns of the night, and junior Bridget Sloan and freshman Alex McMurtry answered with back-to-back 9.95s that were enough to surge UF past Utah 197.850 to 197.800 for the title before a raucous crowd at the Fort Worth Convention Center Arena.

In capturing the third straight NCAA championship, UF laid claim to dynasty status in the sport, with Coach Rhonda Faehn its reigning queen.

A day after Faehn described her team's performance in the NCAA semifinals as "good," Florida was great with its crown on the line.


Congrats to the ladies; great performance on the biggest stage.