Jump to content

Welcome to SECTalk.com

Welcome to SECTalk.com -- The Home of 6 Straight National Titles!

You are currently accessing our site as a guest which means you can't access all of our features such as social groups, sports betting, and many more. By joining our free community you will have access to all of these great features as well as to participating in our forums, contacting other members, and much more. Registration only takes a minute and SECTalk.com is absolutely free, so please join today!

If you have any problems registering or signing in, please contact us.

Latest Topics

Latest News

Top Bettors

Top High Fived

Alabama Football A-Day Notes

- - - - -

This topic has been archived. This means that you cannot reply to this topic.
No replies to this topic



    Bammer Moderator

  • Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • Posts:
  • Joined:
    Jun 2007
  • Cash:
  • High Fives:
April 14, 2012

Recap |  Final Stats |  Quotes |  Photo Gallery Posted Image

WHITE DEFEATS CRIMSON, 24-15, IN GOLDEN FLAKE A-DAY GAME<br/>Running back T.J. Yeldon accounted for 179 all-purpose yards to lead the White team over the Crimson team, 24-15, in the 2012 Golden Flake A-Day Game before a crowd of 78,256 at Bryant-Denny Stadium and a CSS television audience.  Yeldon caught a game-high 5 receptions for 91 yards and 1 touchdown and rushed for 88 yards on 16 carries. Trailing at halftime, 9-3, the White team took control in the third quarter behind a pair of Phillip Sims touchdown passes – a 44-yarder to Chris Black and a 50-yard strike to Yeldon. Yeldon’s performance earned him the Dixie Howell Most Valuable Player of the Game Award while linebacker Adrian Hubbard of the White team earned the Dwight Stephenson Lineman of the Game Award as he garnered a team-leading 7 tackles, including 3 quarterback sacks (20 yards) and 4 tackles for loss (22 yards).

OFFICIAL A-DAY GAME ATTENDANCE<br/>The official estimated attendance at today’s game was 78,526 at Bryant-Denny Stadium (capacity: 101,821) on Saturday, the fifth-largest attendance mark for an A-Day football game.

LARGEST A-DAY ATTENDANCE TOTALS<br/>The top attendance totals for Alabama’s A-Day Game.<br/>Year - Attendance<br/>2011 - 92.310*<br/>2007 - 92,138<br/>2010 - 91,312<br/>2009 - 84,050<br/>2012 - 78,526<br/>2008 - 78,200<br/>1988 - 51,117<br/>1994 - 46,700<br/>2006 - 40,000<br/>1995 - 37,323<br/>2002 - 37,000<br/>2004 - 35,000<br/>2001 - 35,000<br/>*A-Day Record.

SPRING FOOTBALL AWARD WINNERS<br/>The following Alabama football players were honored for the performance throughout Spring Football Practice with the following awards bestowed by the Crimson Tide coaching staff:

Lee Roy Jordan Headhunter Award – CJ Mosley, Chance Warmack<br/>Jerry Duncan “I Like to Practice” Award – DJ Fluker, Michael Williams, Nico Johnson, John Fulton<br/>Billy Neighbors Defensive Lineman Award – Jesse Williams<br/>Paul Crane Offensive Lineman Award – Anthony Steen<br/>Bobby Johns Defensive Back Award – Dee Milliner<br/>Johnny Musso Offensive Back Award – Jalston Fowler<br/>Ray Perkins Receiver Award – Kevin Norwood<br/>Woodrow Lowe Linebacker Award – Adrian Hubbard<br/>Derrick Thomas Community Service Award – Carson Tinker, Quinton Dial<br/>Bear Bryant Outstanding Non-Scholarship Award – Jeremy Shelley, Kelly Johnson<br/>Ozzie Newsome Most Improved Freshman Award – Brent Calloway, Christion Jones, Jeoffrey Pagan, Tre DePriest, Ha Ha Clinton-Dix<br/>Bart Starr Most Improved Player Award – Vinnie Sunseri, Brian Vogler, Ed Stinson, Cody Mandell<br/>Mal Moore Leadership Award – Damion Square, AJ McCarron<br/>Sylvester Croom Commitment to Excellence Award – Barrett Jones, Robert Lester<br/>Dwight Stephenson Lineman of the A-Day Game Award –  Adrian Hubbard<br/>Dixie Howell Memorial Most Valuable Player of the A-Day Game Award – T.J. Yeldon

THE GOLDEN FLAKE A-DAY GAME BRINGS END TO SPRING PRACTICE<br/>The University of Alabama football team and head coach Nick Saban wrapped up spring practice today with the 2012 Golden Flake A-Day Game at Bryant-Denny Stadium.  Alabama opened spring practice on Friday, March 9, and held 14 practices through Thursday, April 12, leading up to today’s A-Day game. The Crimson Tide also held two scrimmages here in Bryant-Denny Stadium this spring (March 31 and April 6) in preparation for today’s game.

WALK OF FAME CEREMONY HONORED 2011 TEAM CAPTAINS<br/>The annual Walk of Fame ceremony took place Saturday at 12:15 p.m. at Denny Chimes. The 2011 permanent team captains – safety Mark Barron, linebacker Dont’a Hightower and running back Trent Richardson – had their hand prints and foot prints placed in cement at the base of Denny Chimes.

A-DAY GAME FORMAT<br/>The format for the A-Day game was much like a normal game, with a few minor variations primarily regarding the game clock. The game consisted of four 15-minute quarters with a running clock. The clock stopped only following scoring plays, penalties, and changes of possession. Regular clock rules were used during the final minutes of the second quarter and the fourth quarter.<br/> 

<br clear="left"/>Posted Image<br/>Posted Image




Posted Image