Jump to content

Welcome to SECTalk.com

Welcome to SECTalk.com -- The Home of 6 Straight National Titles!

You are currently accessing our site as a guest which means you can't access all of our features such as social groups, sports betting, and many more. By joining our free community you will have access to all of these great features as well as to participating in our forums, contacting other members, and much more. Registration only takes a minute and SECTalk.com is absolutely free, so please join today!

If you have any problems registering or signing in, please contact us.


Calling any A/V nerds out there

- - - - -

  • Please log in to reply
52 replies to this topic

#1
jacobp

jacobp

    Moderator

  • Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • Posts:
    25,804
  • Age:
    33
  • Joined:
    Jul 2007
  • Location:
    NWA
  • Cash:
    0
  • High Fives:
    6,993
Ok, so in my bonus room I have a projector set up but I decided to add a TV up there as well. Nothing crazy, just a 42 inch LG. I bought an HD antenna to hook up to it, but all I'm getting is sound, no picture.  I have antennas connected to a couple more tv's upstairs with no issues.

I'm guessing its a random setting on the TV that needs to be switched, but I don't know where the hell it is. Model is an LG 42LN5300 if that helps.



50 vcash to the winner, along with a teabagging from @Darth Vader
Posted Image

#2
WARDS

WARDS

    Grindinnn

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • Posts:
    1,555
  • Joined:
    Aug 2013
  • Location:
    Gump
  • Cash:
    0
  • High Fives:
    1,571
sounds like a signal issue. may want to return the antenna and purchase a new one.

#3
WARDS

WARDS

    Grindinnn

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • Posts:
    1,555
  • Joined:
    Aug 2013
  • Location:
    Gump
  • Cash:
    0
  • High Fives:
    1,571
what kind of antenna do u have?

#4
jacobp

jacobp

    Moderator

  • Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • Posts:
    25,804
  • Age:
    33
  • Joined:
    Jul 2007
  • Location:
    NWA
  • Cash:
    0
  • High Fives:
    6,993

View PostWARDS, on 21 August 2014 - 02:28 PM, said:

sounds like a signal issue. may want to return the antenna and purchase a new one.
Its not the antenna. I hooked it to every other tv in the house and it works just fine. I hooked my other antennas to the tv in question and got the same issue. sound but no picture.
Posted Image

#5
GoldenRebel

GoldenRebel

    A Proud Swayze Crazy

  • Moderators
  • PipPipPipPip
  • Posts:
    21,227
  • Age:
    27
  • Joined:
    May 2007
  • Cash:
    0
  • High Fives:
    10,277
Should've bought a sony, dumbass

#6
HmanHunt

HmanHunt
  • Members
  • PipPip
  • Posts:
    1,842
  • Age:
    24
  • Joined:
    Jul 2011
  • Cash:
    1,000
  • High Fives:
    1,074
Is the antenna plugged directly into the tv?
Posted Image

#7
WadeWilson

WadeWilson

    SECTalk Private Dick

  • Moderators
  • PipPipPip
  • Posts:
    5,382
  • Age:
    26
  • Joined:
    Sep 2011
  • Cash:
    1,000
  • High Fives:
    8,315
http://www.ehow.com/...a-antennas.html
http://www.avsforum....enna-input.html
http://www.highdeffo...876-post16.html

All I got.

#8
jacobp

jacobp

    Moderator

  • Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • Posts:
    25,804
  • Age:
    33
  • Joined:
    Jul 2007
  • Location:
    NWA
  • Cash:
    0
  • High Fives:
    6,993

View PostGoldenRebel, on 21 August 2014 - 02:41 PM, said:

Should've bought a sony, dumbass
Meh. I have a Sony in the bedroom and in a room upstairs. My main TV downstairs is a Vizio.
I just wanted an easy tv to watch other games while I have my main game on the projector.
Posted Image

#9
jacobp

jacobp

    Moderator

  • Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • Posts:
    25,804
  • Age:
    33
  • Joined:
    Jul 2007
  • Location:
    NWA
  • Cash:
    0
  • High Fives:
    6,993

View PostHmanHunt, on 21 August 2014 - 02:46 PM, said:

Is the antenna plugged directly into the tv?
correct.
Posted Image

#10
HmanHunt

HmanHunt
  • Members
  • PipPip
  • Posts:
    1,842
  • Age:
    24
  • Joined:
    Jul 2011
  • Cash:
    1,000
  • High Fives:
    1,074

View Postjacobp, on 21 August 2014 - 02:49 PM, said:


correct.

Try a channel scan
Posted Image

#11
jacobp

jacobp

    Moderator

  • Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • Posts:
    25,804
  • Age:
    33
  • Joined:
    Jul 2007
  • Location:
    NWA
  • Cash:
    0
  • High Fives:
    6,993

View PostHmanHunt, on 21 August 2014 - 02:53 PM, said:

Try a channel scan
lol I'm not completely a/v stupid.

I've done the channel scan and the tv picks up the channels. however, I only get sound. No picture. I'm assuming there is a setting somewhere on the tv I'm missing, but I've yet to find it.
Posted Image

#12
L.A.Hog

L.A.Hog

    Go Hogs,Pilgrim

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • Posts:
    9,141
  • Age:
    58
  • Joined:
    Feb 2009
  • Cash:
    0
  • High Fives:
    6,128
Is it a Visio.I had one go black screen on me,google it,could be the tv.Seems this is a common issue in a Visio.

#13
GoldenRebel

GoldenRebel

    A Proud Swayze Crazy

  • Moderators
  • PipPipPipPip
  • Posts:
    21,227
  • Age:
    27
  • Joined:
    May 2007
  • Cash:
    0
  • High Fives:
    10,277
http://www.askmefast...qna2860815.html

#14
jacobp

jacobp

    Moderator

  • Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • Posts:
    25,804
  • Age:
    33
  • Joined:
    Jul 2007
  • Location:
    NWA
  • Cash:
    0
  • High Fives:
    6,993

View PostGoldenRebel, on 21 August 2014 - 02:56 PM, said:

thanks, but there IS sound. No picture.
Posted Image

#15
ForwardRebels

ForwardRebels

    OLE MISS BY DAMN!

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • Posts:
    13,610
  • Age:
    27
  • Joined:
    Aug 2010
  • Location:
    Mississippi
  • Cash:
    250
  • High Fives:
    8,051
Blame Bert Bielemia.  :trollface:

(8) Ole Miss Rebels  8-2.  (4-2)

- "The worst thing a coach can do is stand pat and think the things that worked yesterday will win tomorrow. Intelligent changes must be made."  - Coach Johnny Vaught


FIRE MATT LUKE!!!!

Formerly known as FCNDawg






0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users