jacobp, on 01 June 2014 - 11:37 AM, said:
3-1 count. Probably a hit and run, but Pankake swings and misses. Schrock stops halfway to 2nd and is tagged out.
Ump called batters interference and called time immediately. By rule it sounds like he should have let the play continue, and the out at 2nd nullifies the interference.
However I guess because Schrock possibly stopped because the 2nd base ump was also motioning for time, they decided Schrock should go back to first and Pankake remains with a 3-2 count. Since it was considered unintentional interference Pankake wouldn't be ruled out.
Campbell is understandably peeved and argues right away. All the umps literally ran to the bullpen to find a rule book and were off the field more than 5 minutes. When they came back there was still lots of discussion, but their original call stood and Campbell immediately filed the protest. It was just as quickly denied (by a rules committee person at this regional), but Gamecocks didn't score so no harm done....other than boredom.
Edited by OmahaBound, 01 June 2014 - 11:47 AM.