Jump to content

Welcome to SECTalk.com

Welcome to SECTalk.com -- The Home of 6 Straight National Titles!

You are currently accessing our site as a guest which means you can't access all of our features such as social groups, sports betting, and many more. By joining our free community you will have access to all of these great features as well as to participating in our forums, contacting other members, and much more. Registration only takes a minute and SECTalk.com is absolutely free, so please join today!

If you have any problems registering or signing in, please contact us.


Dish has screwed up...

- - - - -

This topic has been archived. This means that you cannot reply to this topic.
39 replies to this topic

#16
BulldawgFan

BulldawgFan

    Dak>Bo

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • Posts:
    1,763
  • Joined:
    Jun 2010
  • Cash:
    0
  • High Fives:
    1,103

View PostDarth Vader, on 04 August 2013 - 11:17 AM, said:

I had been a DirecTV customer ever since they bought out PrimeStar back in the 90's about a month ago I swapped over from DirecTV to our local cable. Here's why....


Old Plan;
DirectTV: $120.00 per month
Phone & Internet: $70.00 per month for local phone only and 1.5 meg internet speed.

That was a total of $190.00 per month

New plan
Cable, Pone & Internet bundle with 3 meg internet speed: $140.00 per month

Saving $50 per month, still have all the channels we watch (did lose some channels but none we actually watch. Only downside is a few of the channels we use to have in HD are now standard deff.), now have like 2 hours free long distance (but we really don't use the home phone since we have cell phones), and with double the internet speed playing games on line or streaming though Netflix is smooth as can be. On top of this I no longer worry about losing signal every time it comes more than a shower. And on top of all this, I can even watch replays of our hometown HS football games... all while saving $50 per month.



Outside of the elderly like vader here who really needs home phones anymore? I really think eventually the won't be offered anymore.
Posted Image

#17
jacobp

jacobp

    Moderator

  • Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • Posts:
    25,411
  • Joined:
    Jul 2007
  • Cash:
    0
  • High Fives:
    6,704
I don't have anything service at the moment, but I'll probably have it installed in the next couple months.
Had dish for years and have never missed a game.
If I gave a shit about the NFL I'd get directv. But I don't. I prefer Dish's set up and the Hopper is way better than the Directv Genie
Posted Image

#18
Bigdaddydog1

Bigdaddydog1
  • Members
  • PipPip
  • Posts:
    2,314
  • Joined:
    Jun 2010
  • Cash:
    0
  • High Fives:
    488
I have dish & lost channels also

#19
the Paradox

the Paradox

    Supergenius

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • Posts:
    10,957
  • Joined:
    Jan 2005
  • Cash:
    0
  • High Fives:
    1,498
Over the years I have had Comcast and Directv. Since I moved back to my hometown a few years back I use the local power company's fiber optic service. 60mg internet, dvr, and the enhanced tv package for $125 per month. Tough to beat that anywhere. Actually I experimented this year with cutting the cable and used USTVNOW and the various streaming choices. Saved about 30 bucks per month but with football coming back I am getting the cable put back in.


RTR
Posted Image

#20
smokeyone

smokeyone

    Descendant of a Lord of the Manner in Berkshire.

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • Posts:
    9,950
  • Joined:
    Jul 2010
  • Cash:
    0
  • High Fives:
    3,633

View PostBulldawgFan, on 04 August 2013 - 10:21 AM, said:

I know I can get it free over the air ,but not really sure how to properly set that up. Don't I need some sort of converter box to connect to my tv?
If they are HD TVs no.

Posted Image


#21
BulldawgFan

BulldawgFan

    Dak>Bo

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • Posts:
    1,763
  • Joined:
    Jun 2010
  • Cash:
    0
  • High Fives:
    1,103

View Postsmokeyone, on 04 August 2013 - 12:53 PM, said:

If they are HD TVs no.

I have one tv and yes its a hd visio tv. What do I need to do?
Posted Image

#22
the Paradox

the Paradox

    Supergenius

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • Posts:
    10,957
  • Joined:
    Jan 2005
  • Cash:
    0
  • High Fives:
    1,498

View PostBulldawgFan, on 04 August 2013 - 12:55 PM, said:

I have one tv and yes its a hd visio tv. What do I need to do?

USTVNOW has a free version and a version that includes ESPN, TBS, TNT,etc, and network channels. It has a cloud dvr and is like $35 per month. You will nead a ROKU which costs like $45.


RTR
Posted Image

#23
the Paradox

the Paradox

    Supergenius

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • Posts:
    10,957
  • Joined:
    Jan 2005
  • Cash:
    0
  • High Fives:
    1,498

View PostBulldawgFan, on 04 August 2013 - 12:55 PM, said:

I have one tv and yes its a hd visio tv. What do I need to do?

How far are you from an area that broadcasts tv?  Huntsville, Birmingham, Mobile etc?


RTR
Posted Image

#24
smokeyone

smokeyone

    Descendant of a Lord of the Manner in Berkshire.

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • Posts:
    9,950
  • Joined:
    Jul 2010
  • Cash:
    0
  • High Fives:
    3,633

View PostBulldawgFan, on 04 August 2013 - 12:55 PM, said:

I have one tv and yes its a hd visio tv. What do I need to do?

Buy an HD antenna and hook it up. Then do a channel search to locate the over the air network channels you get.

I have direct and about to just use Netflix, hulu+, amazon and over the air. I don't do a home phone and run Comcast internet (25 megs) and can cut my bill by over a 1000 a year by cutting that bill. Espn360 will have my Vols when they are not over the air. The wife will get every thing but big bang theory so its just a matter of researching antennas to make it happen.

Posted Image


#25
smokeyone

smokeyone

    Descendant of a Lord of the Manner in Berkshire.

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • Posts:
    9,950
  • Joined:
    Jul 2010
  • Cash:
    0
  • High Fives:
    3,633

View Postthe Paradox, on 04 August 2013 - 01:03 PM, said:

How far are you from an area that broadcasts tv?  Huntsville, Birmingham, Mobile etc?


RTR

I set one up at a hunting cabin and got 12 channels including a few from over 150 miles away. But that was pretty HD. I would imagine the range for HD is close.

Posted Image


#26
Bigdaddydog1

Bigdaddydog1
  • Members
  • PipPip
  • Posts:
    2,314
  • Joined:
    Jun 2010
  • Cash:
    0
  • High Fives:
    488

View Postthe Paradox, on 04 August 2013 - 12:51 PM, said:

Over the years I have had Comcast and Directv. Since I moved back to my hometown a few years back I use the local power company's fiber optic service. 60mg internet, dvr, and the enhanced tv package for $125 per month. Tough to beat that anywhere. Actually I experimented this year with cutting the cable and used USTVNOW and the various streaming choices. Saved about 30 bucks per month but with football coming back I am getting the cable put back in.


RTR
My local telephone service offered a fiber optic cable system. Had it about 2 years & loved it. But then they got out of the tv business & now have dish. I am so disappointed

#27
ShaunMac

ShaunMac
  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • Posts:
    5,598
  • Joined:
    Jan 2013
  • Cash:
    0
  • High Fives:
    4,472
I don't think this lasts. I remember when DirecTv and Viacom got into their little pissing match and people were outraged. I mean the only notable channels that were lost were Comedy Central and MTV it seemed like but a deal got done within a few weeks. So if you're losing fox, nbc and abc, people wont be happy.
Posted Image

#28
the Paradox

the Paradox

    Supergenius

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • Posts:
    10,957
  • Joined:
    Jan 2005
  • Cash:
    0
  • High Fives:
    1,498

View Postsmokeyone, on 04 August 2013 - 01:10 PM, said:

I set one up at a hunting cabin and got 12 channels including a few from over 150 miles away. But that was pretty HD. I would imagine the range for HD is close.

I do not think there is a range difference for HD.


RTR
Posted Image

#29
Bigdaddydog1

Bigdaddydog1
  • Members
  • PipPip
  • Posts:
    2,314
  • Joined:
    Jun 2010
  • Cash:
    0
  • High Fives:
    488

View PostShaunMac, on 04 August 2013 - 01:21 PM, said:

I don't think this lasts. I remember when DirecTv and Viacom got into their little pissing match and people were outraged. I mean the only notable channels that were lost were Comedy Central and MTV it seemed like but a deal got done within a few weeks. So if you're losing fox, nbc and abc, people wont be happy.
I hope you right

#30
BulldawgFan

BulldawgFan

    Dak>Bo

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • Posts:
    1,763
  • Joined:
    Jun 2010
  • Cash:
    0
  • High Fives:
    1,103

View Postthe Paradox, on 04 August 2013 - 01:03 PM, said:

How far are you from an area that broadcasts tv?  Huntsville, Birmingham, Mobile etc?


RTR


I'm 82 miles from birmingham. If what dish said in their public statement is true then they really are getting screwed in this. They stated that Raycom wants 4 times to rate that they are charging other carriers for dish to carry their channels.
Posted Image